Home > srebrenica massacre > SARAJEVO PHOTO TOUR

SARAJEVO PHOTO TOUR

February 18, 2006

SARAJEVO PHOTO TOUR, SUMMER 2005

Dear friends,

When you think about Bosnia, what is the first thought that comes to your mind? Is it Genocide? War? Hate? Destruction? Well, if you answered “YES” to any of the above questions, it’s time for you to change your opinion. Bosnia is also about Beauty, Love, Peace, and Co-Existence. Let me introduce you to the Capital of Bosnia-Herzegovina. You might even want to visit it one day!

Photo tour of Sarajevo (Summer 2005) follows… enjoy it and share it with your friends! And please don’t forget to leave some comments. :)

  1. Owen
    February 18, 2006 at 7:14 pm

    I enjoyed the pictures (apart from the hideous office blocks and helium balloons!)- but they do give an idea of how vulnerable the city’s location makes it.

  2. Seesaw
    February 19, 2006 at 5:17 pm

    Daniel, your photos of Sarajevo are beautiful, and yes, that is also Sarajevo, but… My photoblog is dedicated to those pictures of Sarajevo that one usually does not notice. The reason might be that I was born in Sarajevo and know the city as it was before the war, then I lived there through the war and now I walk through this city with my camera and what I put on the blog is what I see.

  3. teliung
    February 20, 2006 at 8:32 am

    Salaam Daniel,

    I think Bosnia-i-Herzegovina has more to offer than what the Balkan wars image of it.

    I particularly like the Bacharsijiye area in Sarajevo with its quaint shops with its unique muslim identity of mosques, as well as other religious houses of worships, showing a tolerance of all faiths, which one cannot find in other parts of catholic nor protestant Europe. Sarajevo also has good banking facilities. What it needed direly is major upgrades of its public facilities, which is an important investment to enhance and sell its image to outside investors.

    I have only been to Sarajevo and Mostar and the points in between as well as Zagreb, and can only comment on that.

    But from what I see the best that this area has to offer is its beautiful nature, and its distinct unique blend of eastern and western culture.

    With the movement toward assimilation into EU, I feel BiH and its ppl should not dilute, compromise nor lose this unique indentity. Its history rooted in Islam and its influence has defined its culture and ppl and making it very unique and thus should be preserved, valued and observed as much.

    Wassalam.
    /ZaiZ

  4. Srebrenica Massacre
    February 20, 2006 at 11:06 pm

    Thank you for your comments friends.

    Sarajevo is also known as European Jerusalem.

    During the war (1992-95) Sarajevo was under siege longer than any other city in modern history — longer even than Stalingrad.

    In the last 10 years, Sarajevo not only rose from the ashes of war and destruction, but became symbol of peace, love, unity and multi-culturalism.

  5. Anonymous
    November 8, 2006 at 3:53 am

    nice pictures thanks for Bosnia bosnian in usa puno dobre slike svako dobro puno srece,,,,caoo

  6. SREBRENICA
    July 29, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    ESELAMUALEJKUM, brother muslims. My country is very beautifull. It is a loving nice enviornment people enjoying their time type of country. It’s not like USA, in the US people just work, sit, sleep and over again. In Bosnia we go out walk in the city, eat check out stuff, its sort of like london and paris.

  7. Jessie
    September 4, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    Thanks for your pictures. My husband and I are moving to Sarajevo (from Salt Lake City, UT), and I have no idea where or how to look for housing. Do you have any suggestions?

  8. Hamdan Abdul Jamal
    June 11, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Peace Be Upon You,

    I’m a malaysian architect planning to visit your beautiful city (and maybe Mostar), after my conference in Oxford, UK. No fixed itenary yet, still open to suggestion, I have about 5 days before flying out.I play guitar too and loves music.

  9. Hamdan Abdul Jamal
    June 11, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Peace Be Upon You,

    I’m a malaysian architect planning to visit your beautiful city (and maybe Mostar), after my conference in Oxford, UK. No fixed itenary yet, still open to suggestion, I have about 5 days before flying out.I play guitar too and loves music.

  10. Anonymous
    June 23, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Esselamualeikum Jamal, I am Mustafa and I am from Bosnia – Sarajevo. I’ve just surfing the net about some texts related to Bosnia and I’ve found this blog and your post. I am a tour guide in Bosnia and Herzegovina guiding all types of tours, so since you’ve mentioned that you’re coming to my country I thought if you want to I could organize your staying here, which means tours, accommodation transportation etc…my email is panjetam@hotmail.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
